Hello Baku, This Is London Calling!

The Eurovision season is upon us, and the entries for this year’s contest in Azerbaijan are already being chosen.  Judging from the announced entries, I’m sensing a common message from each nation in the collapsing Eurozone.  That message is: “I don’t want to host this damn thing next year; you take it!”  For example, Ireland is inflicting Jedward on the world again.

But nothing compares to the bombshell dropped by the United Kingdom today.  Not even bothering with the usual formality of letting the voters decide, the BBC completely on its own named the nominee.  I can’t decide if this poor judgment or good sense because on one hand it takes the choice away from the viewers, but on the other hand these are the same people who selected Jemini, Andy Abraham, Daz Sampson, and Scooch.

So the BBC’s choice is . . . Englebert Humperdinck.  Yes, that one.  Which leads to the inevitable question, was Cliff Richard unavailable?  What the hell was going through the minds of the BBC selection committee that it would choose a singer whose best days were decades ago?  I’m in my 30’s now, and I wasn’t even born when Englebert Humperdinck stopped being a chart topper. I guess the Beeb figured if Katrina & the Wave (don’t laugh) could win (no, really, don’t laugh), then maybe if they went with someone whose prime was even longer ago, the UK will win 12 points from every country?

Baku is going to be a hot mess of a contest.  Which inevitably will make it more fun.  I cannot wait to see this disaster unfold.  Baku has suddenly becomes far more a fun place than it has ever been in its entire history.

In the meantime, I will humbly plug my own Eurovision posts for those who want to catch.  Next month I will not so humbly plug my own Eurovision posts for those who want to catch up.

And cheer up, UK.  Graham Norton will still be doing commentary.

2 responses to “Hello Baku, This Is London Calling!

  1. Honestly, when this was announced last night I thought it must be an April Fool’s stunt a month early. I’m still not convinced that it isn’t. I didn’t even know the guy was still alive. Thinking about it some more, Lulu has been making a bit of a comeback quite recently; she did at least quarter win it once and I wonder if they considered asking her. In fact I wonder just how many people they did come up with and ask before this announcement was made.

  2. Hey, Katrina and the Waves were awesome in the 80s *and* in Eurovision! Nevertheless, nothing could be as ridiculous as Dustin the Turkey, although I’m sure some country in Europe is preparing to challenge that theory…

Leave a Reply

