Almost A Year

I started this blog almost exactly a year ago.  It was a way for me to prove to myself that I could be a writer even if I knew that I would never get anything published.  I think I have succeeded in my goal.  Although blogging is much harder now as I am more pressed for time, I would like to continue this project.  It’s fascinating how my focus has shifted; to my mind, the process has been organic, although to some it may be baffling.  First the blog was intended to be genealogical in nature, then it became all Barcelona all the time.  Lately there has been a lot about gay rights.  I’m not sure why that is, other than to say that is why my thinking has gone of late.  I admit that I wish there was still a Women’s World Cup going on.  I think my best writing came while trying to describe a major event both in terms of sports and gender.  WPS is still on shaky ground, especially now that magicJack (formerly Washington Freedom) has been disbanded by the league.  It’s a story to follow, and I hope I am up to it.

So to my readers and especially to my subscribers, I say thank you for sticking with me through the thousands upon thousands of words, most of them probably needless.  I cannot tell you how much I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

