Swimming

For years after I left childhood, I almost never swam.  Now I live near a pool, and I started swimming again.  I feel like I had far more energy for swimming when I was a child than I do now.  It’s much harder than I remember.

The other day I went to buy a pair of goggles at a sporting goods store.  There was a whole wall of goggles.  When did this happen?  It was the most complicated purchase I have made in the past few years.  Were goggles always this specialized, or is this a new thing?  Did my mother just buy the cheapest thing she could find?

Now I have my goggles, which are lovely, and I went swimming today.  The goggles made swimming easier, but now I see how dirty the pool is.

Eat your heart out, Michael Phelps.

One response to “Swimming

Leave a Reply

