30 Days Left

When the Illinois Legislature passed a civil unions bill, Governor Pat Quinn held off on signing it until he could organize a huge signing ceremony.  It bothered me at the time (civil unions didn’t start until after a waiting period, and that waiting period began only after the bill was signed), but I just thought it was par for the course.  Big laws usually call for big media circuses with cameras, and crowds, and lots of pens.

I assumed Andrew Cuomo would do the same thing.  Since marriage equality doesn’t start until after the law is signed, I thought we were looking forward to at least a two month wait.

I was wrong.  Governor Cuomo signed the bill just before midnight.  Sure there were pens, and some media, and an audience of lawmakers, but the Governor wanted this enacted ASAP.  And now it is the law in time for Pride.  Governor Cuomo did right by us.

This year Pride is more than mere pride.  This year it should be called Jubilation, at least judging from the photos in the West Village.  I haven’t wanted to be back in New York since I left it five years ago.  But today I wish I were there.  I’ve been feeling a bit nostalgic for my time in Boston when I was part of the mass that celebrated marriage equality.  But that’s a story for another time.

Leave a Reply

