Qatar Close To Buying Manchester United

I wrote about this before, but it according to ESPN, the Qatari royal family takeover of Manchester United is near complete, although the Glazers are still denying it.  I’ll refer you to my earlier post for a fuller take.  These oil-garchs already own too much of England, and now they are buying yet another football team.  Worldwide football as a whole will be all the worse with a Qatar-owned United.  I’m sure FIFA is thrilled, but worldwide football is all the worse off with FIFA too.

For all the flaws of MLS, and they are legion, I have to say that there is something to be said about having a smaller league that oil-garchs ignore.  Perhaps I should start buying some new Philadelphia Union gear, especially since I will never ever buy a new Barcelona jersey.

Leave a Reply

