Two Spaces After A Period

In Slate last week, Farhad Manjoo gave what I believe to be a very unconvincing argument for why we should never use two spaces after a period.  The argument ultimately boils down to, “I like one space after periods better.  It’s what I use; it’s what you should use.”  I know–typical Slate.

It makes sense to me to use two spaces after a period.  Two spaces shows finality, and the reader adjusts as such.  One space after a comma, a colon, ellipses, or a semicolon (or words) shows continuity.  Throughout my entire schooling, and that includes law school, I was told in no uncertain terms that one must put two spaces after a period.  At this point it is an unbreakable habit, but I am not really seeking to break it.

This is almost as big a deal as deciding which end of the egg is the proper end to break.  Thank you, Farhad Manjoo for making it into the big deal that it clearly deserves to be.

2 responses to “Two Spaces After A Period

  1. It’s not just Manjoo. AP Style uses one space after a period too. Why use two spaces to say what you can say with one?

Leave a Reply

